Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-24-2014, 07:52 AM   #1

Moving photos to a tablet

Hi

I am new to DSLRs so be gentle with me! I have just bought a Pentax K50 and am loving it so far. Two related issues are baffling me. Firstly, when I plug my camera into my laptop, Lightroom starts up and takes over the importing of the photos. I don't want it to so how can I reset the defaults so other packages such as Windows Live Photo Gallery do this? My second question is about whether and how I can get photos onto an android tablet. Do I need to buy separate software and cables? I don't want to put them onto my laptop first as when I am away I don't want to take the laptop away with me but will have the camera and tablet

Thanks

Tish

10-24-2014, 07:59 AM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
See this thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/58-troubleshooting-beginner-help/274699-u...nectivity.html
10-24-2014, 08:09 AM   #3
Forum Member

Hi tish
You will have to open Lightroom and somewhere in the top tabs
There is a option to untick load from memory card/ camera
I haven't got my laptop handy at the moment so I can't tell
You exactly where to go
Neil
10-24-2014, 08:21 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The process is going to vary depending on what tablet you use. On my iPad, I simply plug my card reader into the lightning port (or the old 30 pin port) and the tablets software uploads the photos. With Android, you will need to buy a card reader with a micro USB cable that fits your tablet or phone. I have never plugged my camera into anything with the USB cable since my first digital P&S many years ago. I find a card reader much easier.

10-24-2014, 08:24 AM   #5
Veteran Member

An Eye-Fi memory card will send the photos to your phone, tablet or home computer or all 3 if you want, using Wi-Fi. They are about $70 I think. Search here for "eye-fi" and there will be lots of info.