Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-27-2014, 02:56 AM   #1
Forum Member

Best 50mm for Pentax K-50?

Hey what is up ya'll?

As you know that I am a newbie and I still haven't got the time to hack and slash with my kit lenses (18-55mm and 50-200mm) for random events like indoor, low light, group portrait, and landscape photo. I came to realize that I need a 50mm fast lens since my shots suffers a lot from blurs and out of focus issue (I know its user input inefficiency, don't beat me) and kinda gets me frustrated (busy office type of young guy whose on a budget and limited outdoor trips which constricts learning photography skills) so I think I reached a point to have a fast 50mm prime lens but the choices are that vast that I am very confused as to which I need to choose.. auto focus might be handy to me but I am willing to spend up to $280 bucks so which one is for me really?

Yes I already did a lot of research and I am just overloaded with so much information that I don't know what to choose for my Pentax K-50

Please help me out guys, I need to make the purchase this week ASAP so I really need a fast advice.

Regards,

Jes

10-27-2014, 03:02 AM - 1 Like   #2
Forum Member

Hi, I was in exactly the same position as yourself a couple of weeks ago and found a really good deal on a used DA 50 f1.8.

I've found the IQ a massive improvement, and very nice to have a low aperture lens.

I paid £55 for mine , but they usually s/h go for nearer to £80 and brand new about £115.

hth
10-27-2014, 03:22 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Get an AF lens. I have M50/1.7 and FA43/1.9. Despite my love for M50 colors and sharpness (and I even prefer its flat rendering sometimes to more artsy 43) , lack of AF is a huge drawback in indoor, low light, [group] portrait setting (BTW, you might want to reconsider getting 50mm for group portraits, it's too narrow).