Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2014, 01:38 AM   #1

I can not find a lens that suits me

Greetings to all

Im new in photography, and also a new guy here. Im watching the forum for about six months, yet this is my first post here.
I currently own a Pentax k50 (metal green) with two lenses. The casual 18-55 kit lens, and the M 50mm 1.7. Im really happy with my photos so far, but some times with the 50mm its really hard to compose indoors or if the subject is to close to me. So im down on the road for a wider lens, that i also want to be faster than the kit lens. Im thinking of buying the DA 21mm F3.2 Limited, but i dont think this is a fast as i wanted. I know there are manual focus lenses that maybe i should give them a try, but its really hard for me to focus manually in low light situations.
Also i feel jealus about the other brants like sony because they have some really good and fast lenses for their aps sensor cameras.
So this is my question, is the f3.2 fast enough? Is it going to be an improvement compared to my kit lens? Im doing photography for fun and i dont want to "waste" money. I need your help and your opinions
Thanks in advance

11-03-2014, 02:49 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Pentax FA* 24/2
Sigma 20/1.8
Pentax FA 31/1.8
Etc
there's a coupe of options at least!

Why limit yourself to apsc only lenses? The FA's are still smaller than most other brands lenses.
11-03-2014, 02:51 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
For what I see there is a Pentax lens for every need and if you want something a little cheaper, you can search for K-mount Tamron and Sigma. I think that 3.2 is a bit high for indoor, but you could search between the old series too and find a cheap automatic prime. Give a look at Pentax lens reviews in this forum considering good ones even F series or if you like manual focus, A series too.
11-03-2014, 03:17 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian