Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-04-2014, 01:52 PM   #1

K3 AF Points

I've just bought a K3 and haven't yet got my head fully around the AF. So far, I'm only seeing one AF point displayed in the viewfinder even though I have selected different AF modes. Depending on the AF mode selected, should more than one AF point be displayed at any one time?

I'm comparing the K3 to the Nikon D7100 I tried whilst I was in the shop. The Nikon was displaying several AF points at once.

I'm new to the K3! But any help would be gratefully appreciated.

11-04-2014, 02:07 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Paul Newman Quote
should more than one AF point be displayed at any one time?
Negative, you'll only ever see one point light up. The K-3 isn't a Nikon All of its 27 points will still be used/considered, however.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-04-2014, 03:26 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

As Adam said, the red indicator in the Pentax viewfinder only show the single point* being used for the AF determination. Actual focus acquisition is signaled by display of the green hexagon and a short beep.

Steve

* I can swear that I have seen two displayed at some point, but I usually shoot in single (center) point mode and never see the dynamic display.
11-04-2014, 03:35 PM   #4

Photos: Albums