Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2014, 03:35 PM   #1

Need help deciding whether to purchase a Pentax K-50

Hi folks,

I'm new to this Forum and would appreciate your assistance with a decision regarding a Pentax camera and lenses - I'm sure that my dilemma is not uncommon and has probably been encountered by many other members due to changing technology. Here's my situation.

I own a Pentax SF-1 film camera that I purchased new from B&H Photo on November 2, 1988. I also purchased a SMC Pentax - F zoom 28-80 3.5-4.5 lens, a SMC Pentax - F zoom 70-210 1.4 - 5.6 lens, and a Pentax AF 400 FTZ flash. I invested about $1,000 for everything.

I am by no means a professional photographer - I enjoy pottering around with a camera when I have the time and inclination and when I was using the SF-1 before the days of digital, I liked it very much - most of my photos came out quite nicely!

I also purchased a Pentax Optio 4i pocket camera in 2004 and have been using it since then - I like the compactness of the camera and the great quality of most of the pictures.

Fast-forward to 2014. My SF-1 and lenses are in like-new condition. They are stored in a camera bag and I have the original boxes for the camera and lenses. For about the past year now, I have been deliberating whether to sell what I have and get a Nikon or Canon camera, or try another Pentax. Pentax seems to be quite expensive compared to other brands, although I've noticed in recent months that the prices of some models may be dropping??? I looked on eBay today and was shocked to see that identical lenses to what I have are being sold for around $20-35 each, the SF-1 camera body for the same amount or even less (I can understand this, because film cameras are pretty much no longer in use) and that my expensive flash is not even compatible with the new digital Pentax cameras - mine is TTL and I now need P-TTL (not sure what this means). So my decision is: