Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-08-2014, 01:34 PM   #1

I need the perfect camera for a project I want to do.

I want to photograph train graffiti on the train tracks right behind my house. I live in the central valley between LA and Fresno, so needless to say I see some pretty creative stuff.

I guess what I need is something that can do motion sensing, but I'm open to other ideas. I would like to be able to just set it up and have it capture all of it really nice and in HD so that I can go through them and select the ones I want for editing.

Tell me your ideas! I'm a complete noob so any info helps. Thanks guys

11-08-2014, 01:51 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In theory this should work. Its for a Canon, but Pentax uses the same external shutter trigger plug.You will need something that will have a fast shutter - 1/1000 sec to 1/8000 sec, in order to capture stop the action of the moving train, and probably run in burst mode, in order to get the entire train. Part of the problem is that the motion detector will run at night also, and that will be a waste - no light. You will also need an external power source so that you will not need to swap batteries a couple times a day - especially after a long train. A very large SD card will also come in handy.

Just about any dSLR will do the vast majority of this. You will need to do a fair amount of experimentation. You will also need a tripod and head to hold everything. You might also want to check into CHDK running on a Canon as it has motion detection built into it.
11-08-2014, 02:15 PM   #3
Pentaxian

You want to record videos of passing trains? You'll need something with very little rolling shutter and plenty of light sensitivity, cause shutter speeds have to be pretty short.