Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2014, 07:40 AM   #1

Help!: Pentax P30T - Night Shooting

Hello there,

Recently I have purchased a SLR Pentax p30t camera. I am new to using SLR cameras.

As part of a college assignment I wish to take some black and white documentation style night shots of graffiti artists.

The lens that came with the camera is a Pentax- A Zoom 1.5 ~ 4.5 28 ~80 mm.

However, after researching online I am confused as to what would be the appropriate settings to use for this.

Should I use a tripod? What film would be required for night shooting with this camera?

Many thanks.

Ais.

11-18-2014, 09:55 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Your question is a deep one. I say this because exposure for night photographs depends a lot on your intent for the final image. Conventional wisdom goes something like this:
  • ISO 400 film at minimum. Tri-X is the standard and push-processing to a higher ISO (say 1600) should be considered.
  • Your camera's meter may not be your friend. The amount of light may be below the meter's sensitivity.* The meter will also indicate a setting that will turn night into day, so to speak.**
  • Manual mode may be your best option (see above point) with exposure determined using available charts on the Internet. Do a search using the term "night exposure table".
  • Tripod may be needed, but remember that long exposures of living subjects usually means blurry subjects.
If the assignment is for a photography course and is specifically for night work, your instructor would be a good resource. If it is for a different course, I would seriously consider doing a mix of night and daytime photos to hedge your bets towards success.

Steve

* Your camera's meter is good down to 1 EV (100), which is about the same as a dim room light. This the case regardless of your film ISO.