Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2014, 02:17 PM   #1

Can't focus

I have been shooting pictures as a serious amateur for many years. Used many different cameras and lenses too. I want to say to start with that I'm not a beginner, but I just want to ask about a cheap Pentax brand 55-200mm MF zoom lens I got and am very frustrated with.
My problem is, that I can't seem to get a good, sharp focus on my subject. Nearby, yes, in front, or behind my subject yes, but it is almost a matter of "luck" if I happen to get my subject in focus. Stupid huh?
I get the little red box, that flashes and beeps when my camera thinks it is focused. Sometimes I shoot then, but sometimes, it just doesn't "look in focus", even though my camera insists it is. Could that be my problem? I shouldn't trust my camera? The only alternative is not to trust my eye!
Anyway, I'm made dozens of pictures with this used lens I got, and about 75% of them turn out bad because of focus. It literally is like hit or miss, and that is really annoying when you can't trust your equipment....or your eye! I guess after 40+ years of shooting pictures, I need to learn how to focus, huh? Or else get a new lens. <haha>

Any suggestions would be apprecaited.

Just a little background, I am on an extremely tight budget, so I can't do what I want to do - go buy a good lens - at this time. I am using an old, but still working well (with its kit lens anyway) *ist DS.

Scott (Astronomersmith)

11-19-2014, 02:47 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Can you be more specific about the exact lens? Not sure I recall there being a 55-200, the exact model number might help.
Since you are fairly experienced you may already know all these but here are a few things to check.