Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2014, 03:16 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Shake Reduction icon turning off during shaking

Hello, I am a beginner and using the K-50 in automatic mode. I have the Shake Reduction mode turned on. When I look through the viewfinder, click halfway on the shutter, and then shake the camera a bit I see the SR icon going off in the view finder. If I stop shaking, or shake it instead much more gently than before, the icon comes back on. Is it normal that the icon is going off with more than a very very gentle shake?

In addition, I cannot hear anything different when the camera has SR turned on versus off when I shake, when using the K-50 with the viewfinder. In contrast, if I use the camera in Live Mode with the LCD monitor/screen, and I have SR manually turned on, I hear the sound of (what I think is SR engaging) as I shake the camera. (Note: The SR icon doesn't go off when I am using camera in Live Mode with the LCD screen/screen.) If I manually turn off SR, I do not hear that sound when in Live Mode. Thanks in advance for the help.

12-09-2014, 04:10 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The shake reduction was designed to defeat shakes when you are trying to hold it still, slight shakes not tremors. When you intentionally shake it I would assume it would disengage if nothing else than to keep from being damaged.
12-09-2014, 05:32 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The icon going out doesn't mean the SR system is disabled, only that it's not stabilized (it's recalculating to counter the different/stronger shake).
12-09-2014, 06:52 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by seattlemark Quote