Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-17-2014, 07:32 PM   #1

Pentax k3 air felt through the viewfinder when zooming...

Hello, I recently bought a K3 with the kit lens 18-135mm. Now I've noticed air rushing through the viewfinder when zooming, the faster the zoom the more audible the air is. Is this normal or do I have a seal issue? Further more when I open other ports ie. headjack port the air seem to redirect though the open port. Thank you... bare with me I'm a newbie to Pentax...

12-17-2014, 07:48 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's normal for a weather sealed camera/lens combo, since the air has got to escape somewhere as you zoom

After a little bit of use (due to wear), the air should start escaping through the lens instead, so you won't feel it.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
12-17-2014, 07:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
That should be normal.

As you zoom in and out, you'll have to suck and displace air. The air has to go in and out somewhere.

-edit-

Adam beats me to it.
12-17-2014, 08:05 PM   #4

Original Poster
Adam & Drypenn, thank you...
though should I be concerned about moisture/water, dust, getting into the camera through the viewfinder?

12-17-2014, 08:07 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by TheDude1363 Quote
Adam & Drypenn, thank you...
though should I be concerned about moisture/water, dust, getting into the camera through the viewfinder?
No.

Still, it's prudent to avoid water and shelter it from rain.