Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-18-2014, 03:23 AM   #1

K3 Beginners set up...

Hello, I'm brand new to photography but have always been fascinated with the art... I currently purchased a K3 (first dslr) and will start taking photography class come next year. I've been jumping the gun and have gone out shooting, now I've had little to no success with sharp image quality and I'm fairly sure it's my technique and possibly kit lens 18-135mm. Any tips on a set up to help me prepare, I've been shooting some stills (family, nature, architecture) and landscape. Thank you for all the help. Cheers...

12-18-2014, 03:48 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The "Recommended Settings" page in the K-3 review on this site is a good place to start:
Review: Pentax K-3 - Recommended Settings | PentaxForums.com Reviews

As far as technique is concerned, I'd suggest you learn and master the basics of photography (primarily exposure and composition).
There are plenty of resources online, and countless books.
A photography class, like the one you've chosen to attend, is also an excellent choice.
12-18-2014, 03:55 AM   #3
Veteran Member

congratulations on your purchase!
My advise would be a good book for christmas :-) covering composition and mastering the relation between shutter, aperture and iso.
12-18-2014, 05:37 AM - 1 Like   #4

I recommend to You to work with these videos:

About camera settings - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLeu1p5jL9GOPjGt7Ker8FMNCTyEynb3ds

About exposure - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLeu1p5jL9GONyuUf92ngOvRN41TxrQsQ-

About composition - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLeu1p5jL9GOPOGNiJPcLHjTGo-x8abhF3

I hope these videos help a bit.

12-18-2014, 07:18 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by TheDude1363 Quote