Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2014, 09:24 AM   #1
Inactive Account

K50 and Red F-- at bottom of info screen & shutter won't press with zoom lens

Hi I'm Jayne & I just got a new K50 with a 70-300mm Sigma lens (Pentax fit). I am just learning how to use the basics at moment so using AUTO setting.The camera is working fine with basic lens. However when I tried out zoom lens the shutter release will not press, there is a red F-- at bottom of screen and the F number in screen does not come up as it does with standard lens. I have tried manual setting but same thing happens. I would be so pleased if anyone could help me out with this. I am basically a beginner at moment.

12-27-2014, 09:28 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Make sure the Sigma's aperture ring is in the 'A' position. If not the camera will not be able to determine the aperture setting and you get "F _ _".
12-27-2014, 09:31 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If the Sigma has an aperture ring make sure it is set to 'A'. There is a little button that has to be pressed to move it to 'A'. If it is a later model with no aperture ring there might be an issue with the contacts.
12-27-2014, 09:55 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Have you set the allow aperture ring in the menu. For some reason Pentax is set to not allow it from the factory and you have to go into the menu and change it to allow. That way no matter what the aperture is set on it should work.

12-28-2014, 09:25 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks so much for your help, I pressed the little button on lens as you advised to set it to A and it is all working great now - thanks again for your help 😊
01-23-2015, 08:38 PM   #6

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote