Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2015, 05:37 PM   #1

Triggering lencarta studio lights - help needed please

Hi all,

I own a K3, and I'm a relative beginner. I've decided to take my photography up a level, and after shadowing a professional photographer in a studio setting, and having a go myself, I've bought two second hand Lencarta EP300 lights with an Elichrom EL-Skyport hotshoe19351 transmitter and 19352 receiver to trigger the key light. This has been my introduction to flash lighting and I've not used P-TTL or any other external flashes.

All was working fine until the lights suddenly stopped firing. I've eliminated the possibility of it being the lights, and it is definitely a problem with the wireless triggering. I am seeking advice elsewhere on the trigger. However, should I be unable to overcome this issue, then I am hoping to use a simple wire. So my question is this: is there a way to trigger one of the lights using a wire? If so, which wire do I need?

There is a 3.5mm jack sync port on the light, and all I need to do is simply trigger it.

Thank you in advance.

01-11-2015, 06:17 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First thing to check is your shutter speed. Put the camera in "x mode".
Second thing to check is if the trigger is firmly seated on the hot shoe
Third thing is to see if the trigger will fire the strobe manually, many have a test button, try that if yours does.

And yes you can trigger by wire the k-3 has an x-sync port on the left. You can also buy hot shoe adapters with wired ports both x-sync and 3.5mm
01-11-2015, 06:30 PM   #3
Noc

Original Poster
Thanks jatrax. I should have mentioned that I spent a LONG time trying every possible issue with the triggers. I charged, changed batteries, pushed test buttons, tried different lights, played with the channels/groups, tried using while charging, tried this, tried that.