Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-17-2015, 08:28 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Noob to M42 lenses -- quick question

I have acquired my 1st M42 screw-mount lens and am a total noob to this type of lens. I have a couple of quick questions regarding use of these lenses ...

1. What is the pin on the back side of the lens for? Is it used at all on a modern Pentax DSLR?
2. I have just started shooting some test shots and am using in AV mode. Any recommendation on shooting M42 Takumar) lenses?

Thanks!!

Last edited by ripper2860; 01-17-2015 at 08:42 AM.
01-17-2015, 08:35 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I think this should answer your questions

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/54-pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-me...k-x-k-7-a.html
01-17-2015, 08:37 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The pin on the back is to close the aperture when the lens is set to Auto. It is not used by any camera other than a screwmount camera.

If the lens does not have an Auto/Manual (A/M) switch you have to gimmick the pin to close the aperture, or use an adapter that has an internal flange to depress the pin.
01-17-2015, 08:39 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Quick answers:
1. No.
2. Make sure the "MAN./AUTO" switch is showing "MAN." - this allows you to stop the lens down. Otherwise you'll be shooting it wide open all the time.
3. Have fun!

01-17-2015, 08:48 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I appreciate the info. I failed to mention that I am musing a M42-K adapter (Fotodiox) that supports infinity focus. The lens does have an A and M switch. I've been using it in A mode to focus (to maximize light to through the VF (unless shooting at or near wide-open)) and then switching to M prior to shooting to stop-down and meter/shoot. So far I find it easier than an M with green-button stop-down metering -- it just seems more natural.