Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2015, 02:09 PM   #1

Must I Clean the Lens and Filter Before Attaching Filter?

Hello everyone

I am new to these forums and I have just acquired a Pentax K3 with an 18 to 135mm lens. Although I have learned a lot by reading previous posts, I still have a question in my head that I can't seem to find the answer to.

My question is this: I purchased a UV filter for the purposes of protecting the lens. Do I need to clean the filter or the lens before putting the filter on? I asked this question because I wonder if there may be some residue left by the factory production that might interfere with the photographic process.

I am asking this question because the lens is brand-new and never been taken out, and I am totally new to this type of set up.

Thank you very much for your kind consideration of my inquiry. I look forward to and will await your reply.

~Antonio :-)

02-07-2015, 02:29 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There should absolutely not be any "residue" on the lens, nor on the filter if it's a quality filter. Just put the new filter on that new lens and you'll be good to go, and enjoy your excellent purchase. Hope to see many pics and postings...
02-07-2015, 02:51 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you, demondata! I will do just that! Take good care.
02-07-2015, 03:00 PM   #4

Why brand-new filters come dirty?

I just finished cleaning my brand-new Marumi Digital PRO Lens Protect Ultra slim brass MC 77mm filter to be put on SMC DA 12-24mm/4.0
Taken out of the box, filter had some strange hazy 'pattern' on it, visible in reflective light, like from storing glass between two layers of foam or similar packing material.
I use just pure well-used soft cotton fabric for cleaning coated glass. Please keep in mind I'm doing that for last 30 years

-----
QuoteOriginally posted by AntonioD Quote