Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-14-2015, 11:48 AM   #1

Lenspen Elite Pen for 18-135 WR Lens - Bad Idea?

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the world of DSLR photography. Recently got myself a K-50 with an 18-135 Weather Resistant lens.

There are a few smudges/particles/god-knows-what on my lens that I can't get rid off with my rocket blower. Very small but noticeable when looking at the lens under a light.

I bought a Lenspen Elite cleaning pen - the one with 'invisible carbon' - to do the job but given that the lens is multi-coated (I think...) I thought I'd ask people who know their stuff before using it.

I think the brush part of the pen isn't a problem. It's the cleaning tip I'm slightly worried about.

What do you think? Good or bad idea?

Also, can I use it on the viewfinder and LCD screen?

Is there any way I can ask Pentax directly?

Cheers!

03-14-2015, 12:28 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If they are not big and they do not show in pictures leave them. Eventually you can use the pen provided you have used the rocket blower before. Just be gentle.
The LCD screen can be cleaned without worries.
03-14-2015, 12:31 PM   #3

All the 'pens' I've used have left nasty smear marks, no matter how I use them. I use a rocket blower to blow dust, the brush side of one of the pens to clean any remaining dust, and then pecpacs with eclipse to get the rest (if there is any).

But yeah, you can have a really super dirty lens and you wont notice it. I generally leave 'dust' on them as it will eventually blow off in the wind or whenever I get some sort of liquid/dog licks lens I'll give it a cleaning.
03-14-2015, 01:46 PM   #4
Veteran Member

+1 on kimwipes. As an alternative, you could always shift careers and work in a lab. Because I clearly chose that career path just to have free access to kimwipes. *cough cough*

03-14-2015, 02:00 PM   #5
Veteran Member