Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2015, 11:39 AM   #1
Forum Member
GrimWolf's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hertfordshire
Photos: Albums
Posts: 87
Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO DG Macro

On monday just gone I was out with my new Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO DG Macro lens at a nearby nature reserve, However just about every photo I took came out slightly blurred (see attached). I was shooting at 1/250 shutter speed. Was this too slow, or is ir possible there a lens fault? Also, is it possible to rescue the photos in photoshop or lightroom?

Attached Images
 
04-08-2015, 11:46 AM   #2
Site Supporter
jimr-pdx's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: 1hr north of PDX
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 3,550
At first glance it looks like out of focus more than movement blur. Can you shoot manual focus on something solid then shoot it again with AF? Many camera bodies can adjust focus when a lens and body aren't matching uip
04-08-2015, 11:53 AM   #3
Pentaxian
normhead's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Near Algonquin Park
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 25,856
This is what your images should look like....

close (on a tripod)


far , 1/500s hand held (well braced)


further, exposure time 1/45


<Slideshow of images taken with this lens. Click>

Last edited by normhead; 04-08-2015 at 12:08 PM.
04-08-2015, 12:35 PM   #4
Forum Member
GrimWolf's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hertfordshire
Photos: Albums
Posts: 87
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jimr-pdx Quote
At first glance it looks like out of focus more than movement blur. Can you shoot manual focus on something solid then shoot it again with AF? Many camera bodies can adjust focus when a lens and body aren't matching uip
I had auto focus on with the camera, through the viewfinder it did seem to be focused.

04-08-2015, 01:06 PM   #5
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sunny Dun(ny)fermline, Fife
Posts: 350
Like Jim I think this looks out of focus rather than shake - have you tried shooting in liveview (also what camera were you using?)
04-08-2015, 01:09 PM   #6
Forum Member
GrimWolf's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hertfordshire
Photos: Albums
Posts: 87
Original Poster
Im using a k20d. Not tried live view. Do i need to caliberate the lens?
04-08-2015, 01:36 PM   #7
Pentaxian
normhead's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Near Algonquin Park
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 25,856
I happen to have a K20D, and a Sigma 70-300 (and lucky for you, an acceptable woodpecker at my feeder, like how strange is that?) so I went out and tried it with the shutter set to 1/250s, hand held in really bad light. Here's the result. I don't see how the lens would be that bad even if it needed calibrating. I'd shoot a couple more test shots, and if you can't get it to work return it. I took 23 images and checked them all to see if any were like what you have, and there were no issues in any of them, from my perspective it has to be the lens.

You're absolutely sure the camera wasn't set to MF, and the lens wasn't set to macro? (even though on mine the macro setting doesn't seem to do anything.)


Last edited by normhead; 04-08-2015 at 03:00 PM.
04-08-2015, 01:52 PM   #8
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sunny Dun(ny)fermline, Fife
Posts: 350
I certainly found with my K-r that it had focus issues with reflex viewing a critical focus object that LV coped with much better. But I have to say your picture looks very out of focus and I'm not sure that any amount of focus fine adjustment will sort this

04-08-2015, 02:53 PM   #9
Forum Member
GrimWolf's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hertfordshire
Photos: Albums
Posts: 87
Original Poster
I think i'll give the lens one more go on friday as there are ducks, swans and other birds locally. I'll try out different speeds and tripod etc. If it comes out the same, I'll return the lens and look at another model.
04-08-2015, 04:24 PM   #10
Moderator
Site Supporter
MarkJerling's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 6,552
I have the same lens, and I find I get best results with shutter speeds faster than 1/400. Having said that, you may want to do a few tests by setting up the camera on a tripod and shooting at inanimate objects and see what results you get.
04-08-2015, 04:28 PM   #11
Emperor and Senpai
VoiceOfReason's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nashville, IN
Posts: 5,417
I have the lens and my only complaint is some CA in certain circumstances.
04-08-2015, 04:45 PM   #12
Site Supporter
SpecialK's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So California
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 14,903
I always had much better results as well. It did die an aperture-blade death on the shelf, however.

Last edited by SpecialK; 04-08-2015 at 07:39 PM.
04-08-2015, 04:48 PM   #13
Forum Member
GrimWolf's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hertfordshire
Photos: Albums
Posts: 87
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
I have the same lens, and I find I get best results with shutter speeds faster than 1/400. Having said that, you may want to do a few tests by setting up the camera on a tripod and shooting at inanimate objects and see what results you get.
I've set up with tripod with much the same results.
04-08-2015, 05:18 PM   #14
Moderator
Site Supporter
MarkJerling's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 6,552
QuoteOriginally posted by GrimWolf Quote
I've set up with tripod with much the same results.
In that case, I'd suggest there may be a problem with the lens.
04-08-2015, 08:52 PM   #15
Veteran Member
sterretje's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roodepoort, South Africa
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 3,534
QuoteOriginally posted by GrimWolf Quote
I've set up with tripod with much the same results.
I think the K20D has live view; try that. If that works, you can try to calibrate the AF (in camera); somewhere in the menus. But it seems to be off by a lot so you might not be able to correct it completely.

Were your tests controlled tests? Steady (relatively large) subject at similar distance as the shot you posted? Center point AF selected and aimed at the subject? Be aware that the focus point is relatively large (just a little smaller than the round brackets in the viewfinder), so if the subject is small, it might well have missed that and aimed at something behind or in front of the subject.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
70-300mm f4-5.6 apo, apo, camera, dg, f4-5.6, f4-5.6 apo dg, lens, macro, pentax help, photography, sigma, sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6, troubleshooting
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro SointulArt Sold Items 6 05-04-2014 11:26 AM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO DG Macro ducdao Sold Items 5 02-17-2012 05:35 PM
Sigma 70-300 1:4-5.6 DL Macro vs Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG MACRO (Comparo) adr1an Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 7 05-08-2011 06:46 PM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro (Worldwide) montoblan Sold Items 5 09-18-2010 12:40 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top