Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2015, 07:35 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Rotational Slop on Bigma with K-3

Hi Folks,
Just received a used Bigma from B&H and noticed a small amount of rotation when the lens is mounted on my K-3. Pictures are fine as are focus and OS. Rotation is not related to and kind of stress in the body or lens. None of my 6 other lenses do this, including the Sigma 18-250. I don't have another K mount to try. The amount of rotation is quite small, I would describe it as a millimeter between two hard stops. The camera rotates back and forth and goes "tick tick" when it hits the stops. The only play is rotational. No side-side or gaps. I know Canons can have some play in the mount and be OK but I'm not a Pentax expert so I thought I'd consult the forum members here. Overall it seems OK but I'll admit I don't like it, feels fragile. I could get used to it if it's a characteristic of this set up. So I suppose my specific questions are (1) Is this a known issue for this lens, (2) Is it something I need to be concerned about? And (3) is this a characteristic of bayonet mounts in general, so if it happens again I won't worry about it.

04-13-2015, 07:44 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I do not remember anything like that when I had that lens. You might want to verify that the lens mount is securely fastened and the screws are not loose.
04-13-2015, 08:18 AM   #3
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
You might want to verify that the lens mount is securely fastened and the screws are not loose.
Yes!

If there is any "slop", it should be limited to the clearance between the retention pin on the body and the corresponding slot on the lens. There is always a little.

Steve

Last edited by stevebrot; 04-13-2015 at 08:24 AM.
04-13-2015, 08:58 AM   #4
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Original Poster