Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2015, 01:37 PM   #1

K-50 video

I am new to video shooting and am having trouble with the outcome of some of my attempts. I took video of my granddaughter and the video was washed out looking. I have taken video of landscape and got very good results. I took the video using manual focus, fps 24, 1/50,ISO 200, WB for conditions, exposure setting either M or P, but was unable to adjust the F stop. When shooting landscape I could adjust the F stop.

Thank you for you time.
gary

04-14-2015, 02:16 PM   #2
Imp
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sorry, what do you mean when you are shooting landscape? like an actual landscape?

Is your camera saying F-- for the aperture in non-movie modes?
04-14-2015, 02:46 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by garyrs Quote
I am new to video shooting and am having trouble with the outcome of some of my attempts. I took video of my granddaughter and the video was washed out looking. I have taken video of landscape and got very good results. I took the video using manual focus, fps 24, 1/50,ISO 200, WB for conditions, exposure setting either M or P, but was unable to adjust the F stop. When shooting landscape I could adjust the F stop.

Thank you for you time.
gary
In M mode you're in full control of the exposure and you have to adjust it yourself based on the ambient light levels.

If you just want to be able to control the aperture, put the camera in Av mode (via the control panel / info button) and you'll be able to adjust the aperture while the camera takes care of the rest.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)