Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-21-2015, 08:33 AM   #1

K50 won't change AF.C mode, bad focus on kit lenses

Help! Having a terrible experience with my new K50. First, I am brand new to DSLR land and am baffled by blurry pictures and inability to get the camer out of AF.C mode. It won't change to AF.A or M when I slide the lever around. Does this sound like a defective camera? The AF.C outcome is having 2- 3 pictures that have no focal consistency. Every now and then I'll get a clear shot but it is rare. The only modes I have tried for shooting are the auto and scene modes. The kit lenses 18-55 and 50-200mm are hit and miss for getting a clear focus. The closest Pentax camera shop is at least a 4 hour drive. I really don't want to send this entire camera to Pentax repair with summer coming up. Also, I had the camera for more than 60 days before I took a DSLR class. And so the retailer will not do a thing to help me.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. Since I'm new to the DSLR game, there could be other things not functioning correctly that I don't even know about at this time.

05-21-2015, 08:45 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Clary Quote
The only modes I have tried for shooting are the auto and scene modes.
That would be part of the problem.
QuoteOriginally posted by Clary Quote
P.S. Since I'm new to the DSLR game, there could be other things not functioning correctly that I don't even know about at this time.
Most new DSLR users go through a rough period because of the learning curve. A DSLR is NOT the same as a point & shoot or cell phone camera. It takes a moderate amount of skill and knowledge to get a good picture. When I bought my first DSLR I very nearly sent it back because all the pictures I took were horrible.