Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-21-2015, 03:31 PM   #1

Static and dog hair

I live in a very dusty and dry area (<10 inches precip/year) and have a terrible time with dust and dog hair clinging to my lenses and lens caps due to static (I'm primarily a pet photographer). Even my rocket blaster has dog hair clinging to it. My normal static remedy is to introduce some humidity into my home by boiling some water on the stove; in the winter I just leave a coffee pot on the woodstove. So my question is how much humidity is too much? Is there an ideal relative humidity level that I can try to keep my house at?

05-21-2015, 03:39 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't know about humidity, but Pentax makes that sensor cleaning tool that uses static to remove dust. Maybe it would be a good solution for you? I forget what its called officially
05-21-2015, 03:55 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Relative Humidity and Your Home - Therma-Stor, LLC
05-21-2015, 04:17 PM   #4

Original Poster
That's interesting reading and good to know. Mostly I'm worried about growing fungus in my lenses.But I'd like to be able change them without the immediate growth of statically attracted hair and dust that occurs when I take my lenses out of their neoprene sleeves. I can blow/brush the hair and dust off but more appears before I get the lens onto the camera. I think you might have to live in a dry area to appreciate how quickly this can happen. I grew up in PA and all we ever worried about there was mildew. We dusted once a week; here I can easily dust twice a day here (not that I actually do, of course). I'm wondering if I need to build a clean room just for changing lenses, lol.

05-21-2015, 04:38 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter