Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2015, 09:48 PM   #1

k5ii viewfinder and exposure

K5II newbie here and need some help with a couple of problems with my camera. The first has to do with focus points in the viewfinder. I can barely seem them light up in the viewfinder when it's bright and sunny outside. Is there a viewfinder brightness control option that I'm unaware of or am I the only one having this problem? Focus points on the far left and right of the frame are the most hard to see in bright conditions.

Secondly, I'm having trouble with exposure control. I can't get the fill flash to get rid of harsh shadows in outdoor conditions. Tried moving closer to the subject and also adjusting flash compensation. Matrix metering results in both blown highlights and underexposed areas. Spot metering tends to help but I find I miss many shots when taking the time to spot meter. What's the most consistent exposure mode on the K5II? I've heard some people having good results with TAv. I just want to be able to nail my exposures without having to fuss over each shot.

Finally, I notice when previewing shots and zooming to check for focus that the picture looks pixelated when zoomed in. I'm shooting at full 16M resolution so this seemed very surprising. Even pinch zooming the images copied to my phone have this behavior so it's not a playback/LCD issue on my camera.

05-25-2015, 11:42 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pereiraw Quote
K5II newbie here and need some help with a couple of problems with my camera. The first has to do with focus points in the viewfinder. I can barely seem them light up in the viewfinder when it's bright and sunny outside. Is there a viewfinder brightness control option that I'm unaware of or am I the only one having this problem? Focus points on the far left and right of the frame are the most hard to see in bright conditions.