Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2015, 06:30 PM   #1

Pentax SMC A80mm F4.7-200mm F5.6 Zoom Issue

Hello Everyone,

I'm brand new to the world of Pentax. I'd previously been a Nikon guy, but the crippling prices of Nikon glass and a few other issues finally drove me away. I was advised by an acquaintance to give Pentax a try. I'm now the very happy owner of a K-01 and already have begun to get much better photos than I had with my previous Nikon D200 or D3100.

Anyway, I have the stock pancake lens that came with the K-01 but I decided to look around for a zoom lens. I found one at a local Pawn America and they're willing to bargain on the price since they've been sitting on it for a long time. It is an SMC Pentax-A 80-200mm f4.7-5.6 zoom lens. I found the entry page for it here and checked out the specs. I also looked over the lens and everything looked great. It even came in the original box with the old Pentax lenses catalog from 1983.

I brought my K-01 in and attached it and the first thing that happened was a message from my camera asking me to input the focal length. I'm confused now. I thought since it was an autofocus lens, that the camera and lens would automatically communicate? I went ahead and dialed in the focal length and then discovered that it would only be a manual focus. I double checked the box and lens body to confirm that it was an auto-focus lens and it is. But, there is no auto focus happening.

I'm very green with Pentax so maybe I did something wrong? I like the lens, but I'd prefer to have the option to use the auto focus when I want. I don't mind manually focusing the lens, but I already found that I'd definitely need to use a tripod as my hands shake too much to get the absolute sharpest photos I want.

Is there any advice from the experienced or pros here? I'm all ears! Thanks!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo