Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-03-2015, 11:27 AM   #1

Please teach me about the AF button

I am quite new to DSLR. I used film SLR (amateur models, not pro models) before, from manual focus to auto-focus era.
On SLR with auto-focus, mostly the focus locks (also simultaneously AE locks) with shutter half-press. Some SLR had AE-lock button, which is understandable.
But what is that "AF button" for? I cannot figure out why one would need or want to press (and hold) that AF button, recompose, then press the shutter release.
Please explain > when to use AF button? What situation that AF by halfpress shutter does not work?

06-03-2015, 12:00 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Here's one explanation. One key reason is to avoid refocusing with every shot (and recomposing can make sense: for example, if AF doesn't find the subject you want in focus because it's not centered, or if something in the foreground you want out of focus keeps grabbing its attention).
06-03-2015, 12:04 PM   #3
Forum Member

For when you want to separate the shutter release from AF. You can turn off AF on the shutter release and use AF button instead. There may be other use cases, but this is mine.

Regards,
Dan
06-03-2015, 01:05 PM   #4
Veteran Member

The problem with focusing and recomposing with the shutter button is that if your finger lets off pressure on the button, then the camera will re-focus on some other point in the image when you go to fully press the shutter button. To make matters worse, Pentax DSLRs don't give a tactile response upon half-press, i.e. you can't "feel" when you've half-pressed the shutter.

Disabling the focus on half press function, and using the back button means that once you release the back button, the camera will not try to refocus, even from shot to shot, unless you tell it to.

06-03-2015, 01:22 PM - 1 Like   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums