Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-10-2015, 05:12 AM   #1

K-50 = Spotmatic?

Hi,
I'm new to the dSLR though I've used a Spotmatic for 40 years. Is there a trick to getting the K50 to behave like the totally manual Spotmatic? Or alternatively, I like to slightly overexpose by opening the fstop one stop. How do I best do that with the K50? Can I set the ISO and shutter speed and be able to change the aperture? Do I use manual and just set everything where I want it?
Thanks so much,
Martha

06-10-2015, 05:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Use M mode. Fix ISO and decide on shutterspeed and aperture based on need.
Use Av. Fix ISO, choose aperture based on need and use exposure compensation.
Use Tv. Fix ISO, choose shutterspeed based on need and use exposure compensation.

So many options I might even have forgotten a few.
06-10-2015, 05:56 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Try TAv mode also, it's very useful: you can fix the aperture and shutterspeed and the camera set's the ISO (between limits). Exposeur compensation works in this mode too.
06-10-2015, 06:27 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Or why not simply use exposure compensation? Set it to +0.7 or +1 and leave it there for ETTR photography and process your RAW images to restore the highlights. It's amazing to see how much detail is in those DNGs waiting to be shifted down.

06-10-2015, 06:27 AM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Set the metering to centre weighted
06-10-2015, 07:29 AM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by 08amczb Quote
Try TAv mode also
It's a nice mode, but does not simulate a Spotmatic
06-10-2015, 07:31 AM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by peacockblue Quote
I like to slightly overexpose by opening the fstop one stop.