Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-13-2015, 08:26 AM   #1
Forum Member

Flash help

Hello everyone. I am Irfan. This is my first thread. Nice to see a Pentax community. So let me start with introducing myself before I ask questions. I do photography and design. You guys can visit my website at Photography

Now there are two problems here with me. First, I've never used flashes or strobes before, only reflectors and once on a canon I used speed lights of a friend and basically told him what I want. He was setting something in the camera like which lights I want on and which ones off. It looked fairly simple. I used a Nikon myself though back then. Recently bought a Pentax K3. I now feel myself a bit limited when I don't get the light the way I want. So thinking of buying a speed light by yognuo, the fourth edition for Nikon. I did a bit of research and got to know the Nikon version would work better on my K3.
Now the questions. And apologise for this as I am basically unknown to how flashes really work except very basic knowledge.

So if I just buy one speed light. And say I want to trigger that flash while off camera. Is it possible through the k3? Maybe by some in built trigger system? Without letting my camera pop up flash contributing to the exposure?
Secondly what are those hotshoe triggers for? If I can trigger the speed light from my camera?

Are there better options with strobes? I don't mind around 500$ more for them. But I am also interested in stopping motion. And flash durations are a bit over whelming to understand. And I like the compactness of speed lights. I also came across some mono lights. But not sure whether they can stop motion. And I mean high speed motion here. Like birds and water. Sharp!