Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2015, 09:38 AM   #1

Cleaned my Pentax's mirror with a regular Lenspen...

Hey guys! So I will probably ask series of very dumb questions but I am a beginner so bear with me (please).

I have recently cleaned my K-3's mirror with a regular Lenspen (originally intended for lens cleaning). The Lenspen I own has got a dry dust removal brush and a carbon cleaning tip so basically, I tried to remove dust with the brush and then used the carbon tip. Having read some threads on here, I realized this was completely unnecessary (and dumb) so the question is - what possible damage could such cleaning cause? Could the mirror be scratched by the brush, or could there be some carbon leftovers in there? Could something migrate from the mirror to the sensor?

Thank you so much, and so sorry for such dumb questions

06-14-2015, 09:48 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I never use the brush side of lenspens -- they tend to add as much dust as they remove and sometimes the bristles fall out. The carbon side should not damage your mirror (not from itself, anyway, you have to be careful about the pressure you are applying), but they also will leave a bit of residue, which will blow off, but only after it dries. (There is just the tiniest bit of inherent moisture [or something] from the lenspen -- its carbon dust will blow off, but it has to sit a while first.)
06-14-2015, 10:39 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by bonfireheart Quote
Hey guys! So I will probably ask series of very dumb questions but I am a beginner so bear with me (please).