Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-22-2015, 08:17 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Help with Rokinnon 14mm F2.8

I bought a Rokinnon 14mm 2.8 for use on my K-50. I am going to Cherry Spring State Park this summer hoping to get some good night shots. I am not very good at shooting in manual mode. With this lens, I find that I can't see if what I'm shooting is in focus, because everything in the image is too far away. A non-Pentax friend suggested digitally zooming the Live View, but I can't figure out how to do that (or if it can be done.) How can I get the subject close enough to tell if the image is in focus?

06-22-2015, 08:23 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by agatchell Quote
I bought a Rokinnon 14mm 2.8 for use on my K-50. I am going to Cherry Spring State Park this summer hoping to get some good night shots. I am not very good at shooting in manual mode. With this lens, I find that I can't see if what I'm shooting is in focus, because everything in the image is too far away. A non-Pentax friend suggested digitally zooming the Live View, but I can't figure out how to do that (or if it can be done.) How can I get the subject close enough to tell if the image is in focus?
Go in live view and hold down the OK button. That will pull up the image magnification and should greatly help you focus. If not, then the only remaining option is trial-and-error, which is sometimes a requirement when shooting star photos.

The 14mm is an A-type lens, so you can leave the aperture ring set to "A" and use the e-dials to select your desired shutter speed and/or aperture.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)