Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
07-06-2015, 12:45 PM   #1

Spotmatic II SW Switch Question

Hi Everyone
Newbie here and recently acquired a Spotmatic II in great shape. Had a quick question about the SW switch for the lightmeter.

Is the SW switch supposed to "click" in place in an up/on or down/off position? Currently I am holding the SW switch while I change aperture/shutter speed and the meter is working but the switch doesn't "click" in to place. The only reason I ask is because reading the manual it states to make sure the SW switch doesn't stay on because of battery drainage. Currently, I can't keep it on without holding it in place in the "on" position.

Sorry if this is a silly question but I cannot find a solid answer.

Thanks!

07-06-2015, 02:22 PM - 1 Like   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pvett Quote
Is the SW switch supposed to "click" in place in an up/on or down/off position?
It is supposed to stay in the "on" position until either the shutter is released or you manually move it to the "off" position. Is there any chance you got your Spotmatic from Roberts Camera in Indianapolis? The reason I ask is that I returned a very clean black Spotmatic II (ser# 5037839) to them just last week with the same issue.

BTW...Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Steve
07-06-2015, 05:05 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
It is supposed to stay in the "on" position until either the shutter is released or you manually move it to the "off" position. Is there any chance you got your Spotmatic from Roberts Camera in Indianapolis? The reason I ask is that I returned a very clean black Spotmatic II (ser# 5037839) to them just last week with the same issue.

BTW...Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Steve