Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-18-2015, 11:53 PM   #1

K200D Focus Ring Snapping

Hey all,

I've browsed the forum for related threads but am unable to find anything related to my problem.

I was out using my camera as I always do, with no issues. I am brand new to photography so I use AF mode and then manually turn my focus ring or zoom ring, to set the distance of the shot. I then hold my shutter button half way, it focuses, then I shoot.

Problem is now I get home, and the focus ring appears to be snapping back to the middle instead of being able to move freely, adjusting my lens. The lens is in the A- position. The only thing I have noticed is in my Menu the AF Mode is greyed out and won't let me change it from AF.S when it would before.

I haven't touched any settings and have been using it as mentioned above for months.

Here is a video showing my problem: https://goo.gl/photos/zRDukvoe3pAqZE3B8

Here are some images displaying the lens settings: https://goo.gl/photos/5jxypLTpTDSf8PEk9

Thanks for any help,
TB

07-19-2015, 01:07 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

I haven't seen that before, but I can tell you that unless the lens has quick shift (which that one doesn't) you shouldn't be touching the focus ring while the AF gear is engaged, even if the camera is off. Is that a power-zoom lens?

When you focus with such a lens, use AF or use manual. If you want to switch from one to the other, use the AF/MF switch on the front left of the camera to engage/disengage the gears. If you don't then you'll force the gears and motor which will damage them.

You should zoom before focusing, not after, as changing the focus length will most likely change the focus. The order should be:

1. Set focal length and compose shot
2. Use AF to focus using shutter half-press
3. Disengage AF and focus manually if required/desired
4. Shoot
07-19-2015, 01:51 AM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums