Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2015, 07:27 PM   #1

K-3 II, external flash with manual lenses

I'm very new to flash photography. I recently upgraded to the K-3 II and I'm trying to learn my AF-360FGZ flash unit. I've been using, and enjoying, a Takumar 50mm and thought I'd also try using it with an external flash.
So I've been stumbling around with these settings, and I wanted to run them by someone to make sure I'm not making my life unnecessarily difficult.

Here are the rules of an M lens, an external flash, and the K-3 II as I currently understand them:
  • No TTL. Though the flash fires, and it says P-TTL on the unit, it fires at full intensity every time. Changing the EV on the flash seems to have no effect. This can be compensated for by stopping down the lens aperture or ISO, at the expense of the ambient exposure.
  • The flash can only switch to Auto Mode when the camera is on M or X.
  • Shutter speed is fixed at 180 or less, can only be controlled in M, and then still not set above 180. Sensitivity and EV can still be controlled on camera in most camera modes, but shutter is, for the most part,locked.
  • When the flash is in Automatic mode, there is no direct EV compensation setting on the flash. Flash output can only be reduced by entering higher ISO or stopping up the aperture on the flash unit.
In a dynamic, low light setting with lots of people around, I can't stop and futz with my flash and camera to this degree, so if I'm correct about all these rules, it'll spell doom for my affair with Manual lenses.

Last edited by Dr. Zee; 08-14-2015 at 07:40 PM.
08-14-2015, 07:50 PM   #2

According to the Accessory Database in full manual mode the flash has six power settings. Instead of changing f-stop or ISO you can change the power setting.