Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2015, 01:34 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
basic questions about telephoto and blurry photos

This is my first time shooting sports
Last week I took photos at my daughters soccer game with the K3 and 18-135 lens. I barely had any usable shots, some looked like camera shake even when I had the shutter speed at 1/1000, some were out of focus every where. I mostly shot at 135mm, and f/5.6

Compare to this week, I shot with my Nikon d200, with the sigma 18-250mm lens, and I only had 2 missed focus (focus somewhere else), none looked like it had any camera blur, only 1 was completely out of focus. most of them were shot at 155-185mm at f/6

So here are my (maybe really basic) questions:

-Is this typical of being at the extreme of the lens? so I should probably get the 55-300mm lens?

-if not typical of being at the lens extreme, what could be a reason I looked like I had camera shake with shutter speeds at 1/800 or above on the k3?

-Did I notice the focus/blur issue more on the K3 because of the better sensor/higher mp? (sorry not I am not technical, is it basically because I can enlarge it more in lightroom?)

-What camera settings should I have to improve the number of in focus shots?

Thanks for any help and advice

08-22-2015, 02:11 PM   #2
Veteran Member

What were your AF settings? Single point, auto 5, etc and af-s or AF-c?
08-22-2015, 02:21 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Yep, suggestions are possible if you post an example complete with EXIF data.
08-22-2015, 02:33 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by skierd Quote
What were your AF settings? Single point, auto 5, etc and af-s or AF-c?
I can't remember offhand (and I am sure part of the issue) but on the pentax, I think it was single point, af-s