Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2015, 06:15 AM   #1

Problem with View Finder mode

Hi
I am a newbie owner of a K-S1 and am trying the various features. All was well but now the shutter release button will not take a picture using Auto Focus in Viewfinder Mode. It will take one on Manual Focus. Live View seems to work OK on Auto Focus. Any help would be appreciated.
Many thanks.

08-23-2015, 06:59 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by tortie Quote
Hi
I am a newbie owner of a K-S1 and am trying the various features. All was well but now the shutter release button will not take a picture using Auto Focus in Viewfinder Mode. It will take one on Manual Focus. Live View seems to work OK on Auto Focus. Any help would be appreciated.
Many thanks.
Welcome to the forum! I don't have a K-S1 so there could be thing I am missing, but most controls are universal to all Pentax DSLRs. You will also get some responses from people a lot better than I am about diagnosing problems. It sounds as though you may have the camera set to focus priority, but for some reason the focus is not achieved. The camera will only fire if the subject is in focus. This does not make a difference in manual focus, and live view uses a different focusing system. There are a lot of variables here so more information may be required. What is the subject you are shooting? How is the lighting? Are you getting focus confirmation?
08-23-2015, 12:26 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by tortie Quote
Hi
Many thanks.
In AF-S mode (unless the release priority custom function is set), the shutter won't release unless your subject is in focus. Is that not the case?

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)