Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2015, 11:53 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Old Pentax lenses won't work on K3 and K-01 - HELP!!

I am relatively new to the Pentax system. I have a K3 and a K-01, and really like them both for auto-focus lenses and for my "A prime manual focus lenses".

However, when I have these camera bodies set to Av (Aperture Priority) and put either my SMC Pentax-M* 300mm F4 or old MF Russian lenses on them, I find that turning the aperture ring on the lens has no affect on the shutter speed. Also, turning the front and back "wheels" on the upper right side of the camera have no effect either.

Might someone be able to tell me what settings to use so that I can get back control of my old MF lenses and be able to adjust the shutter speed and aperture?

Thanks,
Dave in Wisconsin

08-26-2015, 12:03 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Check out the manuals online. You have to use M, mode, and the green button to adjust for aperture. I have a K3-II and K-30, and it works with my old lenses from film days (ME, K1000 !!)

---------- Post added 08-26-15 at 12:05 AM ----------

Here is a link to the Ricoh/Pentax website:
Search | Ricoh Imaging Support
08-26-2015, 12:31 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The M series work fine. I have used all the M lenses listed in my signature block below on my K-3 and also a K-x.

As the poster before me indicated, you need to use the M setting. A couple of settings in the menus also need to set up a certain way. You've obviously found the setting that allows the camera to work in absence of any lens information being transmitted to it. The other menu setting is to tell the camera to use TAv mode (I think, from memory) when using the green button. This will ensure the camera will adjust the shutter speed when using the green button to meter a manual lens.