Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2015, 11:03 AM   #1

Pentax k50 + 18-135mm lens star shooting help.

Is there any specific guide/tutorial for k50 which deals with getting photos of the night sky? I am fairly new to this, want to learn how to do it and what i need.

I searched for guides, but i am not sure which one to follow lol. Looking to shoot pin point stars and trailing type of shots.

thanks!

08-27-2015, 11:14 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi
This might be useful
https://photographylife.com/how-to-photograph-the-milky-way
Neil
08-27-2015, 04:40 PM   #3
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by max77p Quote
Is there any specific guide/tutorial for k50 which deals with getting photos of the night sky? I am fairly new to this, want to learn how to do it and what i need.

I searched for guides, but i am not sure which one to follow lol. Looking to shoot pin point stars and trailing type of shots.

thanks!
Hi,
Definitely what gtis said. After reading that article and searching through the forums for other night shooting info here was my first attempt. Don't be afraid to experiment.
Joe
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 
08-27-2015, 09:18 PM   #4
Pentaxian

looks good joe...great starting point and exif data looks like a very good base line to work from
I like taking multiple shots then stacking them for star trails.....starstax is excellent for this plus time lapse vids can be made as a bonus!
shoot wide open, iso around 400, a helpful tool for exposure time is the 500 rule (500 divided by (focal length * 1.5 (crop factor)) for a static field... i.e. 18mm 18 seconds
bounce around this as a base line and adjust to your conditions (light pollution, etc)
if you decide to use the on board intervalometer.....the interval must be longer than your set exposure time (it's all inclusive).....if I have 15 second exposure the interval will be set at 17 sec.........

08-28-2015, 07:54 AM   #5