Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2015, 08:22 AM   #1

KS-1 Kit lens not working properly after using manual lens

Further to my last post 'Problem with View Finder mode' and reply to Adam on 25.8.15 where I stated that I was going to reset all the camera settings back to their default values, go back to basics and start all over again I still have a problem! I'll outline the sequence of events that I think may be the root cause of the problem.

As I said before I am a Newbie. After using my two kit lenses successfully I moved on (perhaps a bit too enthusiastically!) and tried an old Pentax ME Super film camera 50mm f/1.7 lens and a Vivitar 28mm f/2.8 lens - both were given to me. I set each of them up as instructed and for a while all was well. Then when I put my kit lens back on I found that if I used AF I was only able to take two pictures before the shutter would stop firing. The shutter will release on MF but with a very slow shutter speed.

Both manual lens work as they should (as far as I know!) and the problem seems to be confined to the kit lenses. To me, it's almost as if the camera still thinks it has a manual lens mounted.

I would really appreciate any help from any long-suffering, more experienced photographers and thank you in advance.

08-30-2015, 08:46 AM   #2

Its happen to me as well on my Pentax K-r!!
08-30-2015, 10:07 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Morning,

Switching back to AF lenses in and of its self should not create a problem. When you say that the shutter does not fire, it sounds like a lack of light to me. The manual lenses you were using were faster than the AF lens (f1.7 and f2.8). So, I would start there. I don't know what type of lighting situation you were in, but I would try a couple of things.
  • Open up the aperture all the way. Does the camera take a picture?