Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-31-2015, 05:24 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Using Pentax-F on K10D

Hi guys. Few days ago I became a happy owner of Pentax -F 50/1.7. But yesterday I found few issues that I've never met before. It was a sunny day so I started using built-in flash in slow sync mode. The general mode of using camera was Av (lens in Auto position). After few shots with aperture set to 2 I found a huge exposure miss. Almost the same situation taking a shots without flash with very light background. While using kit lense (18-55) gives normal results. What is my mistake? It is my first time of using F-lenses. Here under you can find to images made by kit and 50mm lens with slow sync flash.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K10D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K10D  Photo 
08-31-2015, 05:59 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The aperture in the second image is open more, even though the exif info reads the same. Look at the Eiffel tower in the background for the clue in this. I've not got any F lenses to try. Did you try the shot in manual as well? I reckon the lens was at f1.7 as the picture looks about 2 stops and a bit over exposed.
08-31-2015, 06:13 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Flash can be tricky with close subjects and large ( open ) apertures. Post some of the non flash misses.

On the shots posted, it looks like the flash shoot was taken from closer than the other, is that true? That could account for the differences in depth of field.

If you dismount the lens and manually flip the aperture control arm mouth the ring is set to A does the lens stop down evenly and rapidly?
08-31-2015, 06:17 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by eonb Quote