Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2015, 04:09 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K3 & Corrupted Cards (sort of)

I've been having a problem with my relatively new K3. After transferring files to my computer, the cards are unreadable when put back in the camera. The cards can still be read by the computer. This has never happened with my K5IIs.

09-26-2015, 04:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I think the stock answer to that is to format the cards in the camera and see if it helps.

Also, Mac or PC? There were a number of threads awhile back with issues on Mac's because of an OS incompatibility. That seemed to have gotten fixed by Apple at some point. But don't hold to me that, I have no experience with Mac, just remembering something I read here.
09-26-2015, 04:34 PM   #3

Original Poster
The problem is the requirement to reformat the cards. I like to have files on the card as long as possible, as another back-up. I don't want to reformat them, although I did reformat one card recently. I did upgrade to Yosemite. It didn't happen before that.
09-26-2015, 05:11 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Tighelander Quote
The problem is the requirement to reformat the cards.
What I meant was to format the cards on the camera once and then see if they will work, not necessarily reformat it each time. Just curious to see if the issue is because the cards were formatted on the computer rather than the camera.

Here are some other threads that might help:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/115-pentax-k-5/304480-card-formatting.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/58-troubleshooting-beginner-help/247403-m...very-time.html