Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2015, 09:52 AM   #1

Need Setting Suggestion(s)

I recently purchased a Pentax K-50, my first camera of any legitimate quality, and I'm looking for some set up suggestions.

The lighting scenario is theater style (shooting from darkness with bright lights over subjects). Subjects are moving. My lens options are a Pentax DA 50mm f/1.8 and a Pentax 135mm f/2.5 Telephoto.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated, but use small words. I'm very new to this stuff.

Thanks!

10-14-2015, 10:37 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shoot in RAW and set the ISO high enough to be able to use reasonable fast shutter speeds, but not too high so you don't get overwhelmed by noise or loose too much dynamic range. Aim for the 400-1600 range.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
10-14-2015, 11:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How near can you get?
Other than that, ISO 1600-3200, as short as possible exposure times, aperture f/2-2.5 for the 50mm and 2.5-3.5 for the 135.
If you're not comfortable in manual mode, use P. Centre-weighted with -1 or -2 EV of compensation (assuming dark background).
10-14-2015, 11:23 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Shoot in RAW and set the ISO high enough to be able to use reasonable fast shutter speeds, but not too high so you don't get overwhelmed by noise or loose too much dynamic range. Aim for the 400-1600 range.