Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-28-2015, 12:03 PM   #1

Help me decide on a camera

Hello all and SORRY for the lenghty post,
I'm a novice when it comes to photography and on a somewhat tight budget but would like to purchase my first real camera. I played around with an old Canon rebel but I would like to buy a camera that would last me awhile and provide me with good IQ, good AF (not shooting sports necessarily but would hate to miss shots) and usable images in low light.

I shoot primary candid photography (street photography, portraits on the fly) but would like the option to shoot wide for travelling (landscapes and monuments/temples etc...). Portability is also a major factor (for example I like shooting portraits but I'm unsure if I would buy a prime solely for that use). I would only shoot handheld.

For under $1000 with 1or 2 lens included, seems that Nikon and Pentax are strong contenders.
Both have weather sealing, provide good IQ and seem well loved by most users.

Right now I'm looking at either a K-3 bundle for $650 w/ a 50mm 1.8 prime included or a refurbished D7100 for $500.
I would like to add a good prime to either for low light situations, preferably 35mm as I find 50mm too narrow (but it might be redundant for the k3 since it comes with a prime).

The Nikon prime is more expensive but provides a wider aperture which would be great for night shooting and the Pentax DA 35mm 2.4 is a bit slow in that aspect.
For a walk around lens I was looking at either the Sigma 17-50 or the Tamron 18-50 for the Nikon and the Pentax 18-135 or Tamron 17-50 (if I can find it used) for the Pentax.
The Pentax lens has a longer reach but is apparently soft at the edges and the IQ is only deemed "satisfactory". Then again it's the only one that's weather sealed, so I'd be maybe less afraid to travel with it. I don't want to have to baby my equipment and moreover I know myself and accidents happen (a lot around me).