Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2015, 11:12 PM   #16
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by luma Quote
I posted reply to a relevant thread on K50 forum, but I thought I use this one as well.

I purchased my K50 in May 2014, so I am past warranty. Some 2 weeks ago I shot few pictures and all heavily underexposed, almost black. I started playing with exposure compensation and then all of sudden everything worked. Trying to shoot today, same problem, all dark, after dozen exposures or so, all good again. Turned off and on, still working fine. Let it sit for a while, turned on and the same problem again, all shots black. I am dreading the cost of repair and time without camera for Christmas...

Read more at: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/151-pentax-k-30-k-50/276378-k50-sensor-pr...#ixzz3t1Zk1Xtm
Aperture motor needs replacing...same thing happened to mine just before the warranty expired (thank goodness). It sucks, but that's what it is. Hope Ricoh / Pentax improves the quality of the replacement aperture motors, if not, mine should fail again in a few months.

12-07-2015, 01:03 AM   #17
Site Supporter

You have to remember, digital equipment is a lot, and I do mean a LOT, of digital. Lock ups, overheating, hardware failures, software bugs and crashes. You name it. It can happen to the glorified computer that you're using to take pictures. In addition to all the electronics and software, you compound that by having mechanical pieces that may also fail. Quality control is critical in any manufacturing process, but a certain percentage will fail. Hopefully, for the customer's sake, prior to the warranty expiration.
12-07-2015, 09:59 PM   #18
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by dansamy Quote