Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-30-2015, 05:33 PM   #1
Forum Member

K50 camera problem

I posted reply to a relevant thread on K50 forum, but I thought I use this one as well.

I purchased my K50 in May 2014, so I am past warranty. Some 2 weeks ago I shot few pictures and all heavily underexposed, almost black. I started playing with exposure compensation and then all of sudden everything worked. Trying to shoot today, same problem, all dark, after dozen exposures or so, all good again. Turned off and on, still working fine. Let it sit for a while, turned on and the same problem again, all shots black. I am dreading the cost of repair and time without camera for Christmas...

Read more at: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/151-pentax-k-30-k-50/276378-k50-sensor-pr...#ixzz3t1Zk1Xtm

11-30-2015, 05:40 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Unfortunately, Luma, your aperture motor may have bitten the dust. :-(
11-30-2015, 06:29 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Do you have any manual glass to test it on? Or lenses with an aperture ring? Then you can shoot in manual, and if things are fine, well that pretty much nails it. I had the aperture assembly croak on my old K-50 a month before the warranty expired, so I got lucky. Not sure how much that repair is, but I know you can pick up K-50's really cheap. so might be a better option for you if that's indeed what's wrong.
11-30-2015, 09:43 PM   #4
KDD
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Try to RESET your camera and see!!

12-01-2015, 06:33 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

I also purchased my K-50 in the same time period (April 2014) and it started showing the same symptoms a couple months ago. I tried everything i could think of including resetting the camera. I love the camera and hate it tucked away in my big gadget bag. I still try it every couple weeks hoping it will have fixed itself somehow. :|