Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2015, 03:29 AM   #1

Sunpak Auto 2000 DZ and ist DL2

I have ist DL2 camera and i have been given a Sunpak Auto 2000 DZ flash.

Will a Sunpak Auto 2000 DZ flash work with a ist DL2 camera?

I think it is compatible but thought I would ask the question rather than wreck the cameras electronics.

Ken

12-08-2015, 04:33 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Look it up here: Photo Strobe Trigger Voltages
12-08-2015, 05:45 AM   #3

Original Poster
Looking at the listing it gives the following

Auto 2000 DZ Yes 3V, measured by Ken Kane
So is it safe to use on the Pentax?
I am a beginner "No question is silly if you do not know the answer."
Ken
12-08-2015, 07:01 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nobody wants to get blamed for frying someone else's camera. That being said, I use Pentax's own AF200Sa flash, whose trigger voltage lies in the "Your call" zone (7.72 volts), comfortably on my K-5, but I went out and had mine measured and it came in well within spec.

This link describes the method for measuring your flash's trigger voltage. If I had any doubts at all, I would have it measured. Print out the method page and take it with you to an electronics repair store or to an electrician with the right kind of voltmeter; they should be able to follow what's going on and do the job appropriately.

12-08-2015, 08:44 AM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I don't agree that the trigger voltage measured by a dc meter is a reliable indication of whether an old flash is suitable for a newer camera.
I was using Pentax AF160 which has a steady state trigger voltage of 3.75 Volt DC , on my Olympus camera, and the camera hotshoe trigger failed.