Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2015, 09:15 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
New lens for beginner photographer

Hi all!

I bought my first DSLR camera a little over a month ago. It's a K-50 with a kit 18-55 lens. I'm really loving the lens, but I'm looking into new lenses. I'm extremely new at photography and, tho I've read a lot of the theory, I'm still struggling with a lot of issues.

The main reason I bought the camera (or so I told myself) is to take pictures of my 3d printer and my 3d printed parts (I own a little 3d print shop in Guatemala =] ). However I really like to take far away photos and I've noticed that I mostly use my lens at the 55mm focal length mark.

I have a couple of questions and I thought I could ask you guys and girls:

1) I have read the reviews and scores of the DA 50-200 and the DA L 50-200 and I wonder why their scores are so different. I understand that they have the same optical characteristics. Also, would any of those or the HD 55-300 be better at 50/55mm respectively? I like the zoom, but I wonder if they are any good wide open just in case I want to take portraits and such.

2) I'm stuck between choices. Since I do want to take pictures in low light conditions I'm looking into the DA 50mm F/1.8. However I'm also looking into the HD 55-300 and the DA 50-200 (or DA L, whichever you recommend) because I usually find myself trying to zoom in further and I also want to be able to take pictures of nature and wildlife. So really my question is which lens would you recommend for a total newbie: the DA 50mm F/1.8, the HD 55-300 or the DA 50-200?

Thank you all for your time reading and answering my newbie questions.

P.S. I leave a link to my Flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/kurt_ek/ Some pics are taken with my phone so please excuse the quality. The ones taken with my camera are also not very good, but that's because of the photographer