Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-16-2015, 11:45 AM   #1

PENTAX AF360 FGZ II vs Metz 52 AF-1 ADVICE NEEDED

As I am relatively new in modern computerised photography world, I would appreciate an advice from experienced photographers in respect of an external flash for my K5iis.

Generally, I prefer taking pictures without flash. The main reason is because I do like to see more "natural" photos with maximum depth of field. However, it looks like, sometimes, indoors, I just increase my ISO too much and forget about high numbers of aperture. For this reason, I decided to buy a flash and start using it. I intend to take pictures indoors - 15-20sq meters rooms and also outdoors under certain conditions. In terms of price, I can afford a flash for about £150-170. After some research, I ended up looking at the following ones:

1. PENTAX AF360 FGZ II (I can this one from Japan for £150 including shipping etc)
2. METZ 52 AF-1 (I can get this one from Germany for £145 including shipping etc)

As I said, I am not experienced flash user, so I would appreciate your advice on which would be a better choice for me.

Thanks very much in advance for your input!

12-16-2015, 12:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I own the AF360 II but not the Metz 52 so I can only comment mostly on the AF360 on its usefulness, but not the Metz (only base on spec). I find the front LED on the AF360 II very useful as it provides not only the bounced light but also the frontal light (more natural look). I don't think that WR is that important if it is only for indoor use, but still it is rather nice to have just in case you use it outdoors; again, not sure about Metz 52 WR feature if any.