Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-06-2016, 02:16 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Scanning 35 mm negatives - Questions

Sorry for my ignorance, I'm new to a lot of this. I've seen some posts about people scanning 35 mm negatives.

When one scans 35 mm negatives, are they somehow converted into usable files that can be edited and made into new photos? (Does that make sense?). If so, how would one go about doing this? I have 100s of negatives I'd like to be able to use again!

01-06-2016, 02:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't know what you mean about "new photo" exactly. But scanning converts the film to a digital file that can be edited in graphics or RAW editors much like any RAW file from a digital camera. If you have lots and lots of negatives to scan in a timely manner, you might be better off finding a service to do it. Scanning can be time consuming for commodity scanners especially if you want the best results that often require custom editing each file in an image or RAW editor to adjust the contrast curve to your taste and pull up/down low/high values etc to get the image the way you want it. But you can also adjust those things in the scanning software ( no localized adjustments like an image editor can do though).

How much latitude you have for editing can also be a function of your scan. Scanning 48-bit color in the ProPhoto RBG color space, for example, will give you maximum latitude and then you export it to a JPG file for printing or web display in the sRGB color space vs scanning in 24-bit color and sRGB.