Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2016, 12:32 PM   #1
Closed Account

Photos: Albums
Is Live View supposed to look funny? K-50 newbie

Ok, I've searched this forum and couldn't find a similar post. This is my first time with a DSLR (have used compact in the past). When I look though live view the scene - whatever I'm looking at - appears like it's trying to tell me something about exposure, perhaps? It shows up in reds and yellows, pixelated. I see a light bar running down the right hand side of the screen and it adjusts from red or yellow blocks to green. I've read the entire manual and have seen no mention of this imaging. If it's supposed to be like this, can I turn it off? Thanks all.

01-07-2016, 12:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I think you are writing about the electronic level. You can turn it off in the menu (3rd page on K-30)
Later it will become a handy tool.
01-07-2016, 01:00 PM   #3
Closed Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by 08amczb Quote
I think you are writing about the electronic level. You can turn it off in the menu (3rd page on K-30)
Later it will become a handy tool.
No, I have the electronic level on and I like that. This is all over the screen. For example a white table will show up with red all over it. I can't think of how to describe it better other than it's very digital looking.
01-07-2016, 01:02 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Can you take a picture of the screen?
What do the photos look like in photo review? Normal?

01-07-2016, 01:05 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
In Live View settings there is an option for Bright/Dark Area.
01-07-2016, 01:05 PM   #6

This must be the Bright/Dark Area setting (in the Live View submenu). It shows the underexposed and the overexposed portions of the image.
01-07-2016, 01:07 PM   #7
Closed Account

Original Poster