Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2016, 08:58 PM   #1

Speedlight flash not firing at fast shutter speeds??

This maybe a stupid question, so forgive me. I have no experience using external flash and just bought a Neewer TT660 II to use with my Pentax K5 II camera, hoping to use it when I shoot soccer under the lights. The problem I am having is that no matter what settings I try, the flash only works at shutter speeds of 1/125 and slower. I am using M setting on the camera and the flash, and it works perfectly at lower shutter speeds - I tested full range of flash output and sensitivity values. But as soon as I switch to 1/180 and faster shutter on the camera, the flash doesn't fire anymore (shutter still works fine). Is there something I am not doing right, or is this a limitation of the system? Is there a way to trick the flash to fire at fast shutter (I need 1/500 or faster). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

01-10-2016, 09:07 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by genesmasher Quote
Is there a way to trick the flash to fire at fast shutter (I need 1/500 or faster)
Short answer is no.

Pentax flash sync speed is 1/160th and you need to have the camera in 1/3 EV stops to get that. When in 1/2 EV stops mode you can only go to 1/125th. The camera will not fire the flash if the shutter speed is more then 1/160th.
01-10-2016, 09:18 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Set the flash unit to the high speed sync mode.
01-10-2016, 09:27 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by bschriver11 Quote
Set the flash unit to the high speed sync mode.
If that flash has it. If it is very basic you may not have HSS.

01-10-2016, 10:16 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote
If that flash has it. If it is very basic you may not have HSS.