Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2016, 06:19 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-3 II power off problem

I have been a photography enthusiast for over 50 years but I am brand new to Pentax. I sold all of my Canon equipment and got a new K-3 II. I had not used it for a couple of weeks and when I went out to shoot, I noticed the battery indicator showed very low. The camera would not turn off. I had to take the battery out to power it down. I put a fresh battery in and the problem went away. My camera has a serial number that supposedly is not effected by the K-3 II power off issue. Could this have been caused by having a low battery in the camera for a couple of weeks of non use?

01-13-2016, 07:57 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The K3II had a problem with early units shipped that did not turn off properly.

I can't find the reference on this site right now but here is an offsite reference: Ricoh offers fix for Pentax K3 II power-off problem
01-13-2016, 11:23 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
No! Really? You are really unlucky, Pentax camera are no less reliable than Canon and Nikon, I'd suggest you forward your problem to "normhead", "monochrome" and "jatrax", see how they solve your issue.
01-13-2016, 11:26 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kirk Quote
I have been a photography enthusiast for over 50 years but I am brand new to Pentax. I sold all of my Canon equipment and got a new K-3 II. I had not used it for a couple of weeks and when I went out to shoot, I noticed the battery indicator showed very low. The camera would not turn off. I had to take the battery out to power it down. I put a fresh battery in and the problem went away. My camera has a serial number that supposedly is not effected by the K-3 II power off issue. Could this have been caused by having a low battery in the camera for a couple of weeks of non use?
What's the serial number?