Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2016, 05:05 PM   #1

Spotmatic Metering

hey, long time since I was last here, under a different account, mumbling about various intricate details of the k-r and K1000. Both of those have since been rendered unusable, so I decided to reinvent my pentax career with at first, a k10d (which is wonderful, if a little clumsy) and now a spotmatic.

I learnt at the age of twelve how to handle a camera on the K1000, so in theory I've got some knowledge of film SLRs. The spotmatic's a little different, however, and I'm struggling with the light meter.

Basically, at the moment, I've got the ASA set to 400, but no film in it. when the shutter speed's at 1/4, and I hit the metering switch, it tells me that when I point the thing into a lamp, I am grossly underexposing the potential image. Push the shutter speed down to half a second and it's a gross overexposure, whether it's at f/1.8 or f/16.

I literally just read on the battery check that you can do at ASA 100 and a full second, and it did all of that fine.

Please help. If it means anything, it's an Asahi SPII version.

01-20-2016, 05:27 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Battery polarity reversed is the first thing that comes to mind.
01-20-2016, 05:38 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by pathdoc Quote
Battery polarity reversed is the first thing that comes to mind.
just taken it out and flipped it twice to make sure, same problem persists.
01-20-2016, 06:09 PM   #4
Forum Member